Buddhism A Model Of Spirituality And Lighting

0 / 5. 0

Buddhism A model of spirituality and lighting


In this work you will find what Buddhism is, such as the characteristics and essence of Buddhism.Also as a model of spirituality that promotes spiritual growth through prayer, worship, contemplation to many people.

Buddhism is a philosophical and spiritual teaching, not theistic (theism in the spiritual or philosophical does not think or mention the belief in a creative or absolute God). Buddhism belongs to the Dharmic Family (religion), derived from Brahmanism (it is a transition religion between the Vedic religion and the Hindu religion) and, according to Vedism (Vedism is the religion prior to Hinduism), of Nástika type (notbelieve in existence) are used to classify from the point of view of Hindu religions both doctrines and people.

Main branches of Buddhism

Theravada (Elderly School)

It is one of the Nikaya schools (volume) that formed early Buddhism in India and that retained Buddha’s teachings in the Pāli canon (ancient texts).

The purpose is to free itself in this form of the cycle of suffering and rebirth. This could be achieved by reaching the Kleshas (mental destructive states, including ignorance, adhesion to material and aversion) to achieve the sublime state of Nirvana (spirituality) through the practice of the 8 noble truths (they are also called the way of theMedium).

Mahāyāna (the big road)

Classification of Buddhist philosophies and practices.

  • Reach the state of Buddha (who has achieved a complete awakening or spiritual lighting), along the Bodhisattva road, a state where it remains in a Renaissance cycle to support different people to reach a awakening to the Buddhist path.
  • Buddhism has different facets where they differ on the nature of the road to liberation;
  • The meaning and canonical value of various writings and teachings.
  • self-knowledge in the respective practices of Buddhism.
  • All these skills introduce several things;
  • The spiritual refuge: place where you find your peace.


For example, Yidam is a type of deity associated with tantric or vajrayana Buddhism that is said to be manifestations of the illuminated mind. During the practice of personal meditation (Sādhana), the yogi identifies its own form, attributes and mind with those of a yidam with the purpose of transformation.

  • The Samatha: It’s the mental calm, tranquility
  • Vipassana: is seeing things as they are. It is one of the oldest meditation techniques.
  • Bodhicitta: It is the desire to have the lighting (Buddhity) to offer the service to all the sensible beings that have been reached in the cycle of the existence of the Samsara and have not reached the Buddha.
  • The goddess of mercy: Bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara. A different beauty that gives value to Buddhists
  • Vajrayāna: The Buddhist traditions of Tantra and a secret mantra are varied that they are an addition of Mahāyāna Buddhism that are not the same in the adoption of added procedures. You can consider a third branch of Buddhism or part of the Mahāyāna.
  • The termination state: Buddha has as meaning a awake, the being that has awakened from the dream of ignorance and perceives things as they really are.


Who was Buddha?

Buddha Gautama, the first name was Siddharta Gautama, then it was called śākyamuni or tathāgata. His decendency was from the second Hindu caste, the Kṣatriya, who were only warriors and noble. Buddhism was founded because he was an ascetic (Sramana), yogi, mendicant, philosopher and wise. He was instructing in the northwest of the Indian subcontinent for 40 years. The basis of his teaching was suffering and the end of suffering (nirvāṇa). There were 4 approaches that form one of the first contemplations;an old man, a patient, a corpse and the last one to an ascetic.

Buddhist traditions and schools

Buddhism does not have a vertical hierarchical organization. Sacred texts are authority. These texts are: the sutras (speeches by Buddha Gautama and his disciples). The historical organization of the monastic community is the part of the dialogue that passes from person to person is to say some transmission lines in time. Each person in his daily life has a position depending on the 2 large branches, Theravāda and Mahāyāna. In Mahayana Buddhism, the daily life of the person is considered extremely important to achieve Nirvana as monastic life, while in Theravada there is an emphasis on monastic life. Buddhism has a particularity of teaching in some of the main western universities. Among the most recognized universities (Oxford, Harvard, Salamanca, Milan) have an area of studies of religions and oriental languages with specialty about Buddhism.

This explains the manifestations of the world that is perceived from nature which have three universal characteristics:

  1. Anitya: Impermanence, transience or change.
  2. Anātman: insubstantiality (absence of a permanent ego).
  3. Duḥkha: suffering, discontent or dissatisfaction.


Karma: Cause and effect

Buddhist science has to do with karma, like any speech, body or thought action. It also says that all deliberate action creates one or more effects that appear when the circumstances are prone, to what is called maturation (vipaka) or fruit (Phala). The deliberate in the case of spontaneous acts is neutral but the flow of intent is karma, even if it is not in healthy judgment. The good and the bad of karma are distinguished according to the root of the actions. In the Kukuravatika Sutta Buddha classifies karma into 4 groups:

  1. Dark.
  2. Brilliant with bright results.
  3. Dark and bright with a dark and bright result.
  4. Neither dark nor bright with a result neither dark nor bright.


Darkness (evil) cannot lead to a brilliant (happy) result, but, karma can be composed thanks to a diversity of good and bad motives. Karma in Buddhism also clarifies the differences by which beings have a more or less long life, wealth, beauty, health or wisdom. Buddha clarifies that these things do not exist by chance but for karma. Karma is a law to explain a way in which a conscious being that judges is absent. He also says that there are 4 types of human beings that must be left in relation to karma and his probable ending.

  1. Who does evil and goes to hell, state of degeneration or a lower rebirth.
  2. Who does evil and goes to a sky, happy state or superior rebirth.
  3. Who does good and goes to a sky, happy state or superior rebirth.
  4. Who does good and goes to hell, state of degeneration or a lower rebirth.


Nirvaṇa: awakening, lighting

Samsara’s awakening to try the truth of nature, reality and life. This awakening is due to the teachings is going through the 4 noble truths, the 3 brands of existence, would originate it and the Renaissance. 

Free Buddhism A Model Of Spirituality And Lighting Essay Sample

Related samples

Zika virus: Transmission form Introduction The Zika virus belongs to the Flaviviradae family, was found for the first time in a monkey called Rhesus febrile and in...

Zika virus: cases and prevention Introduction The World Health Organization (WHO) has confirmed that Zika is a virus caused through the mosquito bite which is...

Zeus The King of Greek mythology Introduction Zeus is the Olympic God of heaven and thunder, the king of all other gods and men and, consequently, the main figure...

Zeus's punishment to Prometheus Introduction Prometheus, punished by Zeus Prometheus, punished by Zeus. Prometheus is a ‘cousin’ of Zeus. He is the son of the...


Leave feedback

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *